Concerto for Violin: Paths to Dignity

Homelessness in today’s society has reached a peak unparalleled in history. Even prior to the devastating long-term economic effects from the global pandemic, seventeen out of every 10,000 people in the United States were experiencing homelessness on a single night in January 2019 according to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Those in the arts community have not been shielded from the financial downturn of the past year. Consequently, the solvency of artists and arts organizations across the nation is in extreme peril. However, it is in times of crisis that the Arts that are always found on the front line towards bringing back humanity and dignity because it is creativity that lies at the core of what it means to be human.

It is with this in mind that discussions began between composer Lucas Richman and violinist Mitchell Newman for the creation of this new work for violin and orchestra for the 2022-2023 and 2023-2024 seasons. This piece will address, and serve as a catalyst for meaningful discussion, the connections between homelessness and mental health as well as the role the Arts can play in restoring humanity and dignity to the ever-growing population of displaced citizens.

Concerto for Violin: Paths to Dignity
Lucas Richman, composer

Approximately 25 minutes in length, this Concerto is divided into four separate movements:

  1. Street Stories (a collage of personalities and street sounds)
  2. Fears and Delusions (addressing the plight of veterans and their families)
  3. Shelter For My Child (restoring self-worth through grace and kindness)
  4. Finding Home (examining the barriers to re-entry into society)

Community engagement activities are a significant part of bringing “Paths to Dignity” to your city, including the following:

  • Musical ensembles and organizations advocating on behalf of the homeless would have the option to participate in various scheduled activities prior and subsequent to any local performances of the concerto.
  • An accompanying educational curriculum will be created for use in schools K-12 and content composed of video, text and visual art relevant to the concerto will be curated for an online presence.
  • Additionally, the 3rd movement, “Shelter For My Child,” will be available in separate form for use by youth orchestras in the spirit of social education and community service. 

Local premieres of the work will be available to orchestras and other performing ensembles worldwide throughout the 2022-2023 and 20223-2024 seasons. Mr. Newman will serve as the violinist for the world premiere of the work and will be available for performances by commission consortium members.

Commission Consortium Information:

Fee for Commission Consortium Membership: $2000

Consortium members will be acknowledged in all published scores of “Paths to Dignity.”  Fees are inclusive of the use of scores and parts for all local premiere performances (soloist fees not included).  Members will also receive the educational curriculum and will have the choice between the following orchestrations:

Full Orchestra: 3 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 1 English Horn, 2 Clarinets, 1 Bass Clarinet, 2 Bassoons, 4 French Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani, 3 Percussion, Piano, Harp and Strings

Chamber Orchestra: 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 2 French Horns, 2 Trumpets, 1 Trombone, Timpani, 1 Percussion, Piano, Harp and Strings (standard woodwind doubling applies)

List of Concerti by Lucas Richman
Complete List of Lucas Richman’s compositions

To become a Consortium member, please contact us at